December 29, 2012

Day Twenty Six of of Thirty (nonconsecutive) Days of Writing the rawr edition

Posted in challenges, thoughts, writing at 10:17 am by z. l. sasnett

Believe that life is worth living and your belief will help create the fact. — William James

We’re getting closer to the end of the year. Where did it go? I’ve lost some months in there so if anyone finds them, kindly send them back my way.

I spilled water on my Hello Kitty keyboard and now it won’t work. While this bums me out, it’s not a total loss. I rediscovered an old keyboard to use until I find a replacement and decided I may not replace it after all. It’s an old Dell keyboard from a now long-defunct Dell computer. I love this thing and I can’t really tell you why. It’s the key action, maybe? I like the way it feels and the way it sounds. Almost as soothing as typewriter sounds.

Learning to type on an IBM Selectric does that to an oldie-but-a-goodie like me. That’s something on my wish list. One day, I’ll own one again. Damn, I loved those machines.

It’s Day Twenty Six, dear God will this never eeeeend?

26. Let’s talk art! Do you draw your characters? Do others draw them? Pick one of your OCs and post your favorite picture of him!

Yeah, starting to lose the love on this meme… :/

I wish I could draw. I really REALLY do. Maybe that will be something I pick up for the next year. Learn to draw. Well, more than stick figures.

In the meantime, I have to make do with casting my stories with pictures of celebrities and video game characters and anime and comics and pretty much anything visual that does what I want it to do. That is, be a representation of what is in my head when I write. That’s fun in its own way. A huge time-killer but fun when the brain finally throws up its synapses and screams I NEED A BREAK.

Somewhere along the way in my search for how to do what it is that I’m currently doing, stumbling along and hoping every step of the way will be something good later on, I learned about the Novel notebook (aka Story Bible). This wondrous item of the writer’s work in progress that captures all the things and ideas the writer stumbles across during the writing of a specific novel.

I love Novel notebooks. They are so much fun to put together. Like scrapbooking, I guess, without getting to fancy.

So, I’ll give you…Sergei, my mage-adjudicator from my epic fantasy in progress. He’s one of the stock characters in the Sword of the New World: Granado Espada free-to-play MMORPG video game that I fell in love with and it was those characters that inspired the story. I had this whole, huge family of spies and assassins and mages and had so much fun. I should see about re-downloading it. It’s certainly no World of Warcraft but the people were pretty and I kind of liked the world.

So, here he is: Sergei, Mage
Sergei, Mage

Leave a comment