August 21, 2013

When writing became the enemy

Posted in goals, time management tagged , at 10:07 am by z. l. sasnett

Ink and paper are sometimes passionate lovers, oftentimes brother and sister, and occasionally mortal enemies. — Terri Guillemets

Re: today’s quote.

Oh yeah. OOOOOHHHH yeah.

I’m in the moral enemies stage right now

Recently, I’ve been on a productivity kick. The reason is pretty obvious, I wasn’t being very productive. In fact, I felt like most of the time I was just spinning my wheels. Sure, I was ‘doing stuff’ but that stuff I was doing wasn’t stuff that was serving me. It was a wildly waste of time by doing stuff in the most ineffecient way possible.

This, understandably, bothers me. I may be lazy but I’m not inefficient!

So for the past two months I’ve done a study of my daily routine and habits. And I uncovered a most regrettable  thing.

I wasn’t being efficient with my time. I spent more time faffing around on the internet (in the name of ‘research’. sometimes in the name of ‘taking a break’) and doing anything BUT writing.

This lead to the understandable realization that I wasn’t getting much writing done.

Insert guilt here.

After analyzing the time wasters and what I was doing (and what I wasn’t doing!), a huge schedule change was in order.

Now realize, I knew I was unproductive. Then a quote fell across my path. One that I knew but had forgotten:

Insanity is repeating the same mistakes and expecting different results

Where I fell down was in believing that if I just tried harder, then I would be more productive. Working harder, not smarter. Not a good use of my resources and time!

I started playing with my time. The time when I wrote, the time when I edited, the time when I could do blog posts (and discovered the wonderful world of writing them ahead of time and posting on regular basis – whoda thunk?), the time when I could pick my crocheting up again…

Habits take time to build up. I fall apart when I try to change too many habits at once. This habit, this changing my schedule to something that fits with the rhythm of my day and my creative energy, will encompass many little habit changes and many tweeks.

Here’s hoping. I don’t want my writing to be my enemy. But we have to come to some accord as to when and where in order to get things done.

Leave a Reply

