June 18, 2013

Well, knock me over…

Posted in challenges, thoughts, writing tagged , , at 2:49 pm by z. l. sasnett

If you want the world to take you seriously, first you have to take yourself seriously. You have to look at your blog as not just a blog but an opportunity to change the world.

And then you have to write as if the whole world is listening. — Jon Morrow

So many different things going on in my life, all of them pretty much ranking as First World Problems, so I won’t bore you with them.

The most pernicious was the complete lack of energy, drive, motivation, brainpower, direction…pick one, pick two and mix and match. It wasn’t there. None of them were.

Six months have passed and I’m starting to see the bright light at the end of the tunnel and I’m almost positive it’s not some train, so I’m able to travel with a little more speed and purpose. I hate when I suffer from depression and don’t realize it until it has passed. Only in looking in my rear view mirror do I realize what happened.

Now it’s daylight and I can see.

Today’s quote wasn’t one I had planned to use to get back into the swing of things. It works much better than the one I had queued up.

Funny story, how I managed to come across it. I was searching for…oh hell, I can’t even remember. I think it may have been motivational quotations. Something like that. It popped up in Google.

Stephen King, it said. I like Stephen King well enough. Love his novellas and short stories. Not much of a fan of his novels. His On Writing is filled with good advice and much with the feelgoods but not what I’d call a useful book on ‘how to write’. I own a copy and it’s a keeper.

20 Tips for Becoming a Frighteningly Good Writer, it said. I’m a sucker for tips about writing of any number.

So the two pulled me in. Then I saw the site. Boost Blog Traffic. O~kay. I’m really not looking to boost traffic yet. Hell, I can’t even stick to a regular posting schedule, so I’m definitely not ready to try to drive traffic to me for any reason at this time. It certainly won’t be to this blog, which is my personal thing at the moment. I do have a project in the works, so the site has been bookmarked for future reference as it will be quite useful for that.

Anyway, since I was there for the quotes, I read it. Then, I hit this bit. Here, I’ll quote it again, it’s just that profound.

You have to look at your blog as not just a blog but an opportunity to change the world.

And then you have to write as if the whole world is listening.

I’ll swear to you now, it hit me square between the writerly eyes so hard my head will be spinning for weeks to come. The epiphany was staggering. The tragic thing was it wasn’t new. I knew this already. I knew this.

It refers to a blog, yet it can easily mean any kind of writing. I think it can be massaged to be relevant to just about anything in life.

This? This is extremely relevant to my interests. And for these past six months, I had lost sight of that. In trying to get it back, I was grasping at air. My priorities were all skewed. I was sailing my boat in the wrong direction I wanted to go. (ZLS: mixing metaphors since….FOREVER!)

I needed a shot in the arm. I got it by this one blog. I have poked around and Jon has some terrific things to say. He’s a hell of an inspiration. Sure, as I mentioned above, his content is geared towards blogging and bloggers. Bloggers are writers, too, right? What’s relevant to them can be massaged to be relevant to me as a writer as well as being directly so as a newbie blogger in another aspect of my life.

So…what does this all mean? I have no idea. But I’m raring to go, this time in the direction I want to be heading.

Jon, I still have trouble navigating the terminology of the blogging way of life but I think this will pingback to you. If you read your pingbacks (which may be highly unlikely if you’re a busy blog, but a girl can dream 🙂 ), know that poking around your blog has truly been inspirational and motivational for me. Thank you so much for putting it together. Thanks for being there.

Leave a Reply

