October 18, 2012

Day Twenty Three of Thirty (nonconsecutive) Days of Writing the vacation edition, part two

Posted in challenges, thoughts, writing tagged , , at 8:03 pm by z. l. sasnett

No one needs a vacation more than the person who just had one. – unknown

Vacations. Usually last about a week and are about four days longer than I like them to last.

Also, I think I’m just a homebody. Definitely not a jetsetter. Not that I don’t enjoy seeing new places. The travel, I find, is tiresome. And although you’re away from work for the week, hopefully at some restful vacation location, I find that is never really the case. Always some obligation to go ‘see something’ or to go ‘visit someone/family’. Obligation, no matter the form, is not restful for me.

I usually need about two days to recover from my vacation before I feel normal again. That’s why, when I normally take vacations, I sit my butt at home. In the end, it’s far more restful than all the travelling around.

God bless those who can do it. It’s just not for me.

Now for Day Twenty Three!

23. How long does it usually take you to complete an entire story—from planning to writing to posting (if you post your work)?

Using my current experience with writing and self-publishing short stories to answer this.

Short stories used to scare the beejesus out of me. I had no idea how to approach writing one. Through silliness on my part, I ran across a blog post by someone I knew through the AbsoluteWrite forums.

His name is Ruv Draba and he wrote a blog post that changed how I view, and ultimately write, short stories. Once I ‘got it’, I was able to streamline my process for kickstarting and, now to answer the question, I’m able to kick out a short story, nuts to bolts, in about a week.

Yes, he outlines a format, a recipe as he calls it. Maybe my short stories are formulaic, who knows. The point is, I can use it. I can do it. I’m writing short stories and as writers know, the more you write, the better (hopefully) you get.

I needed the kick out the door, though. It was just what I was looking for to start up my SuperSecretProject.

Which, by the way, I’m having a blast doing since I have the tools to get it done!

Leave a Reply

