October 17, 2012

Day Twenty Two of Thirty (nonconsecutive) Days of Writing the vacation edition

Posted in goals, thoughts, time management, writing tagged , at 6:26 pm by z. l. sasnett

The best time for planning a book is while you’re doing the dishes. – Agatha Christie

Y HALLO THAR INTERNETS!

Long time no see!

Funny how time slips through the fingers when you’re not paying attention. Well, when I’m not paying attention. I put my head down to get some nitty gritty work done, attend to familial obligations and plan for two vacations back-to-back and look what happens. Eight days go by.

Glad I moved to titling my posts during this meme as nonconsecutive. All my balls have fallen out of my juggling pattern and I think a few have rolled under the couch. Someone fetch a broom.

That’s why I really hate to have my schedule impinged upon. I’m a scheduler. I have to be or else I forget stuff. Like birthdays. And when ‘obligations’ take me away from writing, I lose my momentum and it’s hell to get back.

Like now. The last time I updated was last week. It started by a SURPRISE visit into town (which driving time takes about 45 minutes since I live in the ass-end of nowhere). Then I had to take care of a friend’s animals and house sit last minute.

Two more surprise! town visits, then getting ready to go on vacation, driving on the road most of the day Monday, catching up with friends yesterday and today. I’m exhausted and I’m not due to head home until the weekend.

…only to turn around and do it again in another direction, heading out to see my brother. So many lost days of writing. Tis very frustating. And the thing about it? It wasn’t like I was suddenly not feeling my creativity and sat like a lump to stare at the computer.

Oh no. I’m fit-to-bursting with writing energy. I just…can’t…reach…the laptop…from…overhere…. *thud*

Today is the first day I’ve actually had the time to sit down and get anything written. So I wrote a little bit (priorities, you know) and then started this blog post complaining about having no time to write.

It’s still good to see people I know, visit with friends, do things that I like doing. Just kind of hate that it takes me away from the keyboard, at least until our vacation routine settles down.

Whew….Day Twenty Two!

22. Tell us about one scene between your characters that you’ve never written or told anyone about before! Serious or not.

Hm. How to answer this.

Mostly, the scenes between my characters are when they are bonking like bunnies, which is funny considering I’m not a big romance fan. I am an erotica fan so them tossing beneath the covers does occupy my thoughts but more often than not never make it into the final draft.

Of course, this doesn’t apply to the SuperSecretProject, which is pure erotica and sex.

Leave a Reply

