October 9, 2012

Day Twenty One of Thirty (nonconsecutive) Days of Writing the boring edition

Posted in challenges, writing tagged at 10:15 am by z. l. sasnett

I think writing is, by definition, an optimistic act. — Michael Cunningham

Yesterday, the kitten ignored me. I think she was mad or something, staying downstairs rather than upstairs where I write and Lucy the Dog usually resides close by. I’m sure Lucy the Dog was rather glad to have a day of respite from the rambunctious yak-footed kitten.

Today, she is full of herself and she and Lucy the Dog were actually playing at one point. Lucy…playing…was kind of cute to witness. Being old, she can’t get energetic but they were playing and she was tolerating the kitten batting at her. The claws, it seemed, stayed in and there was some cute moments.

Mostly things are quiet today. Writing to do, trips to plan.

On to Day Twenty One.

21. Do any of your characters have children? How well do you write them?

Disappointing answer: No. Children are marvelous beings. They have that uncanny ability to lift the veil in the most innocent way and lay bare things adults wish would stay covered.

I have not yet successfully written one. Best to not do it at all rather than do it poorly, I think. So…I don’t.

In my epic fantasy, though, my MC and his brothers and sister are still ‘children’ (albeit adult) for one secondary character and the themes of fathers and sons, of parents and children is an under running current through their personal lives for a bit. Love, familial loyalty, respect, disappointment, pride, all tangled up in how they relate to their father.

I don’t think that really qualifies for the question, though. :/

Leave a Reply

