October 4, 2012

Day Seventeen of Thirty (nonconsecutive) Days of Writing the money edition

Posted in challenges, goals, publishing, thoughts, writing tagged , , at 8:43 am by z. l. sasnett

The cat sat on the mat is not a story. The cat sat on the other cat’s mat is a story. – John le Carre

My poor Lucy the dog. With a rambunctious kitten thundering about (we now refer to her as yak feet), she’s not getting much quality rest. As Lucy is an aging dog, she needs more restful sleep than normal. She suffers through surprise ambushes with graceful aplomb but there are days she has this air of flagging patience.

It doesn’t help that the kitten has now commandeered every fluffy/soft surface in the house. The moment Lucy hobbles toward one, the kitten gets there ahead of her and flops down in the middle of it. If Lucy turns around and heads for another, insta!kitten appearance. Lucy can’t win for trying.

I haven’t talked about the SSP (SuperSecretProject) in a while. So just to touch in: The month of September saw $40 in sales for four titles. I lost momentum publishing missing a week and haven’t had any new sales during that week at all. I note that it takes anywhere from 2-4 days to see a sale once I publish something new.

A few titles just aren’t moving at all. It could be any number of things that are preventing people from picking them up but I’m not going to do anything about it yet, just keep an eye on the trends until I have more information and titles to compare.

For my first month, I can’t sneeze at how I’m doing. I’ve considered upping my production to two a week. I’ll have to see how that goes. The holidays are coming up and those are notoriously bad for me as far as time and familial obligations are concerned.

And here we are at Day Seventeen.

17. Favorite protagonist and why!

Ah, we’ve gotten to the filler part of the month of questions. Where something needs to be asked but the meme creator didn’t know what. This will definitely be a cop-out answer.

All of them.

Not said flippantly but in complete seriousness. My protagonists, my main characters are characters I spend days, weeks, months with. It stands to reason that I favor them or I wouldn’t spend that much time with them. I’m not really fond of writing about characters I don’t like. It’s going to show to the reader and if it creates a sense of apathy with them, then they won’t stay with me. Why would I want to bore my reader?

I mean, what’s the point?

So, who’s my favorite protagonist? The one I’m currently working on. That can change day to day.

Leave a Reply

