October 2, 2012

Day Fifteen of Thirty (nonconsecutive) Days of Writing – when kittens attack edition

Posted in challenges, thoughts, writing tagged , at 9:06 am by z. l. sasnett

Coincidence is the word we use when we can’t see the levers and the pulleys. – Emma Bull

Lucy the Dog is having a bad day. It started last night. She’s been pacing ever since, making circuits around and around and around the room. She’s restless and I can’t figure out why. Which is more than just a bit maddening when it cranks up the kitten and the chase by Thunder Paws begins as she galumphs across the floor and back, like a herd of yaks.

How something so small can make such a racket running across a hardwood floor is beyond my ken. But it is of the crazy-making.

Anyway. On to Day Fifteen.

15. Midway question! Tell us about a writer you admire, whether professional or not!

*whine* I have to pick one?

In all seriousness, I don’t really have a writer I admire.

Better to say, I admire all writers.

I know, I know, that sounds perilously close to a cop out. Let me explain.

In all my time on the AbsoluteWrite Forums, I’ve gotten to know, talk to, converse (sometimes argue) and agree or disagree with many writers. It’s a fairly active board with a lot of conversations going on that cover a wide range of ideas under discussion.

One thing that falls out of that, something that has really been driven home of late: Writers make up all kinds of types. We each bring to the table something different and unique about writing, the writing process, interpretation, meaning.

We all see the world around us, our imaginary worlds, real people and the characters that populate our pages, differently. How I see or perceive one thing isn’t how someone else sees it. I like to read how differently something comes across to someone else. It gives insight into other people, into perceptions, into the power of the written word.

Words are powerful. I know, I don’t have to tell writers this, they know. It bears repeating, though. Words have power. Words have meaning. If a writer is sloppy in how they present themselves, even in an informal situation as on writing boards, if their meaning is muddy, if their intent is scattered, or better yet, resulting in nothing better than trolling, it does give me pause in how they can possibly write.

Sure, there are those self-persecuted drama llamas who will take the slightest offense at something said to them and turn it until they’ve martyred themselves. They’ve taken something, perceived it a certain way and responded. Powerful stuff in its own right.

And while I don’t normally have patience for that kind of nonsense (I really have better things to do than indulge in online drama), I can admire the verbal deftness in which they do that and feel confident that they can probably write as well as they’ve crucified themselves.

Plus, it’s fun to watch them do it. They’ve given me something I can work with when I’m writing characters. Trying to dig through the layers of reaction to get to the kernel of who and what they are.

Which is, I suppose, what all writers do. How they do it varies by degrees and what appeals to me, won’t appeal to someone else. I like to see those differences, talk about those differences. I feel that enriches my experience as a writer. Everyone, from the award-winning authors to those just starting out, has something to offer and inspire me.

Leave a Reply

