September 30, 2012

Day Fourteen of Thirty (nonconsecutive) Days of Writing – the tomato method edition

Posted in challenges, goals, thoughts, time management, writing tagged at 7:29 am by z. l. sasnett

“We are all faced with a series of great opportunities brilliantly disguised as impossible situations.” – Charles R. Swindoll

So the brainworm that is Spartacus in Space is still wiggling around in my ear. If the imagery didn’t wig me out so much, I might actually find that cute.

It is apropos to how I feel, though. I have other projects I am focusing on now. I have things in the works that I can’t drop for this at the moment and yet it insists I give it some creative mindspace.

Or maybe it’s the kitten currently curled up between my arms on the table while I type this. Kitten!sleeps are contagious. The rain’s not helping either. Nor is my dog’s snoring as she rests beside me. Time to whip out my kitchen timer and wield my Pomodoro Technique with the skill of a writing ninja!

And to make sure I don’t spend an inordinate amount of time dithering about. Or napping.

With that in mind, I’ll kick out Day Fourteen and get to it!

14. How do you map out locations, if needed? Do you have any to show us?

The answer to the second question is, for the maps I have hand-drawn, no. I would have to scan them and I don’t have my scanner hooked up. And I’d have to dig them up because they are currently in my fantasy WIP folder which has been set aside for focus with Jack and Luke and with my newest brain…child? brainworm? Spartacus in Space.

For the first part of the question, it applies across the board for whatever I do.

I have inherited from my AD&D days the (distressing?) desire (habit?) to collect maps. I have street maps and city maps and state maps and country maps. I have atlases. I have maps of cathedrals, maps of theme parks. If a place I visit has a map, I own it.

Same goes for floor plans and schematics of interesting places. I think I have on my hard drive somewhere the schematics and deck plans for Nemo’s Nautilus. How geeky is that?

Where I don’t have maps of a location, I use Google Maps and Google Earth.

Maps and schematics and floor plans and star charts. I don’t feel comfortable with my creativity to make them from scratch but I will save to ye ol’ hard drive anything I come across.

I’m a collector. I collect things. Things that make me go.

2 Comments »

  1. sepiastories said,

    We are simpatico. I LOVE maps! i had a geography class when I was younger and I use them all the time in all the strange cities I go to when I visit cousins. I tend to take screen caps of places I haven’t been AND places I have been so I can remember them better. Plus photos and old postcards (since I’m historical, see…). I save everything in folders for each book. Cuz ya never know when you might need them again! 🙂

    • I have a box of paper, crayons, markers and the like along with the folding maps so that I can create my own. I’m no cartographer, though. :/ So I mainly stick with ones I can find already done for me.

      A little creative imagining and voila! New map for me to use.

      And I’m the biggest pack rat ever. My house is filled with boxes of stuff that I just can’t bear to part with and so is my computer hard drive. Thank goodness I’m actually organize and can find everything.


Leave a Reply

