September 28, 2012

Day Twelve of Thirty (nonconsecutive) Days of Writing – the gaah! edition

Posted in challenges, goals, thoughts, writing tagged , , at 8:43 am by z. l. sasnett

ME, pro. The objectionable case of I. The personal pronoun in English has three cases, the dominative, the objectionable and the oppressive. Each is all three. — Ambrose Bierce, The Devil’s Dictionary

Another day of non-events. My mother (and realize I do love her to bits. I do!) was off for three full days. Her being home kind of threw my schedule off.

I get cranky when I allow my schedule to be thrown off.

In other news, editing the next SSP story and I’m behind by two days. I had wanted my formatting and uploading days to be on a set day every week and it gets pushed back by two days, which, again, makes me cranky. I’m a creature of habit and of schedules and when I miss my orderly schedule…yeah, cranky seems to be the word for the week.

I am resolute, however, to keep going with the Thirty (nonconsecutive) Days of Writing!

Day Twelve, two days late.

12. In what story did you feel you did the best job of worldbuilding? Any side-notes on it you’d like to share?

To be fair, I’m not sure I can answer this particular question at this time. There’s a reason.

I don’t world build. Not to any detailed extent. I just write and the world morphs around my characters. Sometimes I plan things further out, how the werewolves in my Jack and Luke story are clustered in packs and form family units in the city, how the ‘magic’ works, how their change happens.

In my ZOMG EPIC FANTASY (because there’s no other way for me to refer to my fantasy idea other than ZOMG EPIC. whether it truly is epic or not is another discussion), I’m still hammering out how the magic system works. It bugs me that the hue and cry for fantasy is ‘original magic system’! Make it unique!

Yeah. Sure. And maybe it works and maybe it is just pushing beyond the realms of unbelievability (that is so a word, wordpress!)  approaching ludicrous. How about just making a magic system and not having it be the main character in the book? How about making the main character be the main character in the book? I know, it’s a radical concept.

Maybe I’m just bitter, today. I’m grouchy and tired that I keep missing days due to real life interjecting.

That was thoroughly uninteresting.

Leave a Reply

