September 18, 2012

Day Seven of Thirty Days of Writing

Posted in challenges, writing tagged at 3:22 pm by z. l. sasnett

Growth demands a temporary surrender of security. – Gail Sheehy

Rain, rain, go away. Come again another day.

I have editing to do and the rain is playing merry havoc with my sinues. Sinus headache galore! So if my energy seems low, today, that’s why.

I feel like I’m dyin’ here! Anyway, death or not, on to  Day Seven of Thirty Days of Writing

7. Do you listen to music while you write? What kind? Are there any songs you like to relate/apply to your characters?

Sometimes. I will listen to music if I need to drown out background noises and distractions. I own a set of Bose speakers and Bose Noise Cancellation headphones.

Fierce.

It guarantees I won’t hear anything other than the music, even with someone standing in front of me talking.

Usually, at the beginning of a project, I will create a playlist. Music that inspires certain feelings and images of a character and of the story or world or conflict I’m writing. It sets the background feel and gives me some inspiration.

At some point, though, I have to turn it off and write in (relative) complete quiet. I like to say that the sound of the keys on the laptop make a comforting click~clack~click. I think it’s more being in love with the sound of my keys clicking and clacking. Sort of like being in love with the sound of your own voice. haHA!

I’m really particular about the music I listen to. I love soundtracks, orchestral pieces and choir music sung in a language not English. Anything that has no identifiable lyrics that I can start humming and singing with. That distracts me, I start daydreaming and it’s most often not about what I’m writing. Throws me off my writing groove.

It’s all about evoking images and emotions that makes music so valuable to me to capture it on the page. It’s those images and emotions that spur character creation and growth, scenario planning, plotting, building energy to the climax that keep me moving forward.

Leave a Reply

