September 17, 2012

Day Six of Thirty Days of Writing WOOO!

Posted in challenges, writing tagged at 9:55 am by z. l. sasnett

The road to hell is paved with adverbs. — Stephen King

Not much to report on today. The roast ended up being really tough and mom is livid. We took a yearling in to be slaughtered and she said there is no reason for the roast to have been that tough. She suspects that the cow she took in is not the cow she took home and that pisses her to no end. I can’t say I blame her. We’re hoping it was just a one-off thing and there might have been other factors at play but since many butchers in the area are known for just giving someone any cow and not sending them home with the cow they took to slaughter…well, I can’t see how that’s any way to run a business, except to depend on the fact that customers won’t complain. Maybe customers don’t even know.

We know. We tasted the difference. It was good, don’t get me wrong, but it wasn’t very tender at all. Extremely tough.

Ah well. Not much we can do about it now except not give the man further business of ours.

So, on to Day Six of Thirty Days of Writing!

6. Where are you most comfortable writing? At what time of day? Computer or good ol’ pen and paper?

These are the kinds of questions I like to answer. Part of the writing experience is the environment we write in and it’s always fun to compare notes with other writers, to see what others do in the process of physically writing.

Morning, hands down, is my most productive time to write.

My most comfortable place is at a table/desk. That can be at home, in the library (although not so much because I like to have stuff to drink while I’m writing), coffee shops (stuff to drink!), anything that has a table to hold my laptop. I have a desktop computer but it’s been on the fritz for a while and I’m having some issues getting it working again. Mainly time at this point seems to be my biggest hurdle for desktop repair but it isn’t stopping me from writing.

On occasion I’ll write paper and pencil when I’m drafting an idea or I need to brainstorm or think my way out of a sticky problem. Mostly, the writing happens with a keyboard and an open document.

Months ago, I hit on one technique that I’d forgotten and in the depths of frustration remembered at just the right time. Once I started doing it again, my productivity took a huge leap forward. Don’t get me wrong, I love gadgets and gizmos. I must have half a dozen programs for writing and I love them, every one. Scrivener (for Windows)  is my favorite, followed by The Snowflake Method software by Randy Ingermanson called, appropriately, Snowflake Pro.

Nothing beats Notepad for my most productive writing sessions, though. Notepad and my strawberry kitchen timer following The Pomodoro Technique.  I can kick out some words with this deadly combination.

Leave a Reply

