September 14, 2012

Day Four of Thirty Days of Writing

Posted in writing tagged at 8:11 pm by z. l. sasnett

Be obscure clearly. — E.B. White

Today’s Friday, the day before my mother’s birthday and the birthday of my youngest niece. Happy birthdays to them! YAY!

Since yesterday was taken up with doing SSP stuff, today was a day that I had to catch up all the things I’d put off while I did the SSP stuff. Lot of running around, lot of moving and not much with the getting stuff done.

I did, however, pick up the beef from one of my mom’s cows that she had slaughtered. Tonight, we had T-bone steaks and my my MY there is nothing in this world like fresh beef that has been organically raised. No drugs or nasties for my mom’s cows, let me tell you, and the meat just melted in our mouths. Delish!

Eating out of the garden this summer and now nomming out on natural beef…if I’m big as a house its because I can’t get enough of the freshness in my mouth at one time.

On to today’s Thirty Days of Writing!

4. Tell us about one of your first stories/characters!

As tempting as it is to want to tell you about my time in fandom, I will refrain. Fandom was a wonderful time for me when I was involved and I learned a lot about writing. It was far too short and there are days when I wish I could get back into it.

My time, however, is taken up with other things that occupy my time. Hobbies that involve working with my hands don’t leave a lot for me to do other things.

So, it’s on to original writing.

I think the first thing I wrote for my original ideas springs out of characters I’m fond of from the time when I was tabletop roleplaying. They were so much fun and so endearing to me, I have carried them with me all these years. My first attempts at original writing involved them. Jack and Luke, my two favorite werewolves. They are Laurel and Hardy, Abbott and Costello, pals to the end, in a deep bromance that spans time and space, bosom buddies.

It is my sincere desire to whip them into shape and to write about their adventures. I have a lot of work ahead of me in that regard. It’s futile to attempt to recapture their Hey-Day from roleplaying. They have to be reimagined and recast to hold up to the standards of fiction; to shake off the sounds of die hitting the table and to scrub away the hex spaces and to erase the character sheets.

I need them more full realized in a way that works for fiction and not the fevered pitch excitement of a really smoking RP scene.

I don’t know if I’ll ever see them in print. They are my fondest memories; they are the ones I go to when I’m having a bad day. Even now, I have trouble talking about them, not because they aren’t endless fascination (at least to me) but because they’re so special to me it feels odd to share them with anyone else. On top of it all, I don’t know if I’m strong enough as a writer to do them justice for others to enjoy as well. It’s my biggest fear, yet….

That’s okay with me. I have many other ideas. It seems I’m never out of them. They will get attention from me and hopefully will see success in their own right.

Jack and Luke are my guilty pleasure which suits me just fine.

Leave a Reply

