September 13, 2012

Day Three of Thirty Days of Writing

Posted in challenges, goals, thoughts tagged at 10:48 pm by z. l. sasnett

A writer is someone for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people. —Thomas Mann

 

Today’s quote is especially poignant for me. Had a pretty dreadful day as far as productivity goes. I was so busy but none of it had to do with writing. *flails*

So I’m a bit late tonight but still under the wire! Had other things to handle and finally got them done. Just in time for me to crash into bed.

But first! At least a short one for Day number three!

3. How do you come up with names, for characters (and for places if you’re writing about fictional places)?

The pat answer: everywhere.

Explanation: Nothing is safe from me taking a name, shuffling around vowels or consonants, mushing two words together. This goes for character names and for fictional places. It helps that I write fantasy and science fiction and can get away with made up places.

I also love Old Testament names. They have a poetry to them that feels timeless.

Really, though. When naming characters, many times they name themselves. By the time I’m writing their story, they’re already fleshed out and I help them along by having a list of names to choose from. It’s rare that I dither around with trying to find a good name for a character.

If I do find I’m stuck, I crack open a book/open a webpage of baby names, write some down that catch my eye and start playing the letter shuffle.

Leave a Reply

