April 20, 2012

Start of a cycle

Posted in goals, publishing, thoughts, writing tagged , , at 8:15 am by z. l. sasnett

I’d rather be a could-be if I cannot be an are; because a could-be is a maybe who is reaching for a star. I’d rather be a has-been than a might-have-been by far; for a might-have-been has never been, but a has-been was once an are. – Milton Berle

Right. So. Not too long ago I was psyched. I had a purpose for this blog that has seen a few starts and stops and many times of looking at it and wondering what the heck I was doing. Or thought I was doing.

I left ‘social networking’ behind a few years back when I let my fannish LiveJournal go dark. I poked around the edges of the internet and the blogging phenomenon but I didn’t look much more at it. Sure, I had blogs I would visit regularly. Visit people who had Important and Interesting and Relevant-To-The-Times things to say.

Then I started to take writing a little more seriously. I’ve written on and off for the past ten years or so. Nothing stuck and I pecked at it like a hobbyist. There were many false starts under my belt, though nothing really came of it.

Things have cycled around in my life where I’m looking at a perfect opportunity to write and be a Serious Writer. My learning curve was steep (still is!), yet I read everything I could put my hands on. Separating fact from opinion, good opinion from bad has been an exercise in patience and taxing my critical thinking skills.

Amidst the flurry of reading and researching and relearning, some new attitudes have fallen out as well as some new goals. Hence, my post on 4/13.

What does this all mean?

Most likely nothing to anyone other than me. I have three projects that I wish to track. Expect to see a lot of nebulous and vague benchmarks, and goals and deadlines updates that are nebulous and vague. There’s a reason for that.

  1. Trade publishing – this will be written under my real name. It’s an ambitious novel idea on its own and my goal for it lies in getting it on bookstore shelves. That goal is nebulous, I realize. It will be tightened as the weeks pass.
  2. e-Publishing – this will be under a pen name. No plans at this time to ever release the connection to the world at large. The project is erotica and for valid, logical reasons, as well as the reasons of the paranoid kind, and so my identity will remain safely in the vague. Although, that could change. Whims and whimsy and all that. The book (possibly novella) will be shopped to e-presses that specialize in various heat levels of erotica.
  3. Self-publishing – this will also be under a pen name. Same reasons as for #2 except with no plans at all of ever making the connection between self-published self and real self. This option is to satisfy my own curiosity concerning the process of self-publishing. There’s a lot written on it, it’s captured my attention and so I will be giving it a try. What I intend to do, short stories, novellas…still in the planning stages.

To that end, I cleaned my desk. No, really. This morning was spent looking at all the ideas piling up, all my unfinished projects. Using some guidance found within one of my many self-help writing books (Donald Maass’ book mentioned on 4/19) I started  winnowing down everything ‘available’ to things which have caught my fiercest interest for follow through and finish. They have been pulled aside for development, for writing.

Updates for all three will be posted at regular intervals. An arbitrary goalpost of October 31, 2012 has been set. I will continue to refine what it is that I hope to accomplish by 10/31. Still in the process of lists at this stage.

And there are lists lists lists…I’m the list-making queen of lists!

It’s going to be ambitious and the pace will be break-neck. How can I go wrong? I got my lists! And deadlines. Lists and deadlines. Organization Iz Me!

What an exciting time it is to be me!

Yes, I have a lot hanging over my head but the chance for this kind of creative flourishing is heady and dizzying and exciting.

Have I mentioned exciting?

I think my inner enthusiastic writing geek is showing now.

1 Comment »

  1. […] be a little more specific about the SuperSecretProject, it will be erotic short stories. There are a number of reasons around why. I’ve talked about […]


Leave a Reply

