April 13, 2012

Life is funny

Posted in publishing, thoughts, writing at 1:39 pm by z. l. sasnett

You don’t write because you want to say something, you write because you’ve got something to say. – F. Scott Fitzgerald

Life is funny.

I don’t mean in the ha-ha way in this instance. It’s more of a ‘wow, why didn’t I think of that because it’s so natural and I should have been doing this all along’. Sometimes, it takes someone else to point this stuff out.

Like, this blog, for instance.

It was created because, honestly, there was talk about authors needing an online presence. No one really seemed to agree what constituted one and the advice out there was so contradictory as to be useless. Not to mention, confusing. So The Glass ‘Possum was created and has had many false starts since its inception because the owner had no clue.

She’s still has no clue but she does have purpose.

In a discussion on Absolute Write Water Cooler (a forum I highly suggest anyone who loves to write and read, or simply read should join) on the new opportunities available to writers today. The publishing world is moving into a new era and along with it, so much potential. Being the kind of person who has the normal amounts of curiosity most of the time, this is something that has really caught fire in my imagination. There are wonderful choices out there available to the writer in regards to their publishing. Choices that I wish to explore. They’re too marvelous to simply let slide by and my curiosity is now tweaked.

So what does this mean?

Well, nothing, I guess. This blog will still hold stuff I feel like posting. There may be more of it since I am taking the chance to blog  my efforts in all three endeavors from the beginning.

This may stretch me to the limit. This may be too much for me to take on at one time. This may end up being a futile exercise that ends with me gray-headed and fat(ter) bottomed.

This is a chance I am willing to take.

I have nothing to share at the moment except my hopes and dreams of the future. I have no numbers to compare and contrast self-publishes vs. epublished (and small press) vs. trade published at this time. I’m starting out from scratch.

This blog will hold my plans, replans, re-replans, hopes/dreams/desires, success and failures as they come. I’m a planner and I’m a list-maker. I have a good grasp on how to create goals. Whether those goals are realistic? Hard to say but I am a firm believer that if something isn’t working, re-evaluate, re-plan, re-strategize and try again.

It is my biggest hope to share information, thoughts, and observations that will be of some use to whoever is out there in the Land of the Internets reading me right now and in the future.

At the very least, it will provide a written record for me to come back to every so often to see where I was, where I am and where I hope to be.

Standard disclaimer: What works for me, may or may not work for you. I can only offer what I have had success (or failure) using and/or doing. I proclaim that what works now may not work in the future and what didn’t work now may, in fact, be perfect for me in the future. I reserve the right to change my mind at any time. I am allowed to draw a line in the sand at any point to not cross or allowed to be crossed, and I am allowed to draw a line through anything that is not working for me. I am allowed to fail and I am allowed to succeed. More than a blog, this will document a personal journey and I’m allowed to take detours into that realm every so often when writing about it.

Leave a Reply

