February 27, 2012

Hate it when it happens, even if it’s not a total waste

Posted in challenges, western, writing at 12:57 pm by z. l. sasnett

“Man can learn nothing except by moving from the known to the unknown.” – Claude Bernard

Found out at the last minute Chuck Wendig was hosting a five sentence (100 words or less) story contest. I had an idea, worked, massaged, punched, pinched and beat that sucker into a fine story (I think). It was nine sentences instead of five and topped in at exactly 100 words. A little massaging with some creative punctuation and I got it to the requisite five…

…and was too late to submit by minutes.

*sigh*

Still, I got a nice little 100-word story out of it (ie finished, which is good), I was writing (which is also good) and I have a neat idea I will flesh out for another contest on the AbsoluteWrite forums. I have two days to do it. Luckily, it’s only supposed to be 1000 words long.

I can do this.

What I liked most about this little contest on Chuck’s blog (and the AbsoluteWrite one) is how it’s shaken me out of my preferred (read: safe and comfortable) genres. I’ve expanded my reading and may have picked up a smidgen of an interest in exploring another genre of writing. Westerns.

As a treat for myself, I spent my Christmas money during a trip to Borders. I bought The Complete Western Stories of Elmore Leonard. I have to force myself to put it down to get any writing done.

My TBR pile has grown.

I have this little 100-word drabble and don’t know what to do with it, though.

