February 13, 2012

Comfort zone

Posted in challenges, western, writing at 9:22 am by z. l. sasnett

If you’re not making mistakes, then you’re not doing anything. I’m positive that a doer makes mistakes. – John Wooden.

This blog sees so little use, something I will change in the coming year.

At the moment, I find myself at a bit of a loss. On the AbsoluteWrite forums, there is a challenge to stretch out of comfort zones and write a short story (due to the length requirement, flash fiction, perhaps?) in the western genre before the end of the month.

It’s half way through February and I’m no closer than when I started. I don’t normally find writing out of my comfortable box to be quite as daunting as writing something ‘western’ has proven to be thus far, even though the challenge is very broad in scope as to how the western genre is defined. Perhaps it’s due to my dreadful lack of knowledge on the genre and the (albeit wide) time era it spans. I enjoy western movies and shows and yet it remains so ellusive.

While I may not get anything written, I have managed to expand my reading list by grabbing some western writers so I can’t call it a complete loss. Maybe I can manage to squeak something out as the deadline looms closer. I have time.

*chews nails*

Leave a Reply

